Skip to main content


STSMs are exchange visits aimed at supporting researchers’ mobility, strengthening existing networks and fostering collaboration. STSMs are intended especially, but not solely, for young researchers. An STSM should specifically contribute to the scientific objectives of the COST Action while enabling those partaking in the missions to establish new partnerships, learn new techniques, and access specific data, instruments and/or methods not available in their institutions/organisations.

There were a total of 4 grants of 2,100 EUR each. Participants belonging to Inclusiveness Target Countries (ITC) will receive the 50% of the STSM grant at the beginning of the STSM action. The STSM grant is still subject to the Grant Agreement signature, which will take place within a few weeks.

This call has been agreed upon by the STSM Committee and by the Core Group of the Cost Action. It is important to highlight that any STSM has to occur within the first budget period of the Cost Action, that is, between December 2019 and April 15th, 2020.

The application deadline expired on December 19th, 2019.

The first four early career researchers have been granted and are ready for the STSMs. The plans of the four STSMs were presented by the researchers at the 2nd COST Meeting at Politecnico di Milano, February 12-14, 2020.  

Two early career researchers are:

  • Chiara Tagliaro (Politecnico di Milano, IT), who is now an STSM grantee in the US (Cornell University, College of Human Ecology), and
  • Irene Manzini Ceinar (UCL, UK), who is now an STSM grantee in Italy (Politecnico di Milano, IT),

Two other Short Term Scientific Missions were supposed to be conducted later on in the US (Michigan State University’s School of Planning, Design and Construction) and Belgium (Vrije Universiteit, Brussel) but, unfortunately, cancelled due to the coronavirus.

Short Term Scientific Missions will be opened again in the second part of 2020.

Contact info:

  • Carles Méndez-Ortega STSM Coordinator of the Cost Action 18214,
  • Ilaria Mariotti, Chair of the Cost Action 18214
  • Pavel Bednar, Vice-Chair of the Cost Action 18214